There are many different types of driving offenses, each bearing its own consequences and effect on your license. While some driving offenses require little more than the payment of a fine, others can have a significant impact on your life, such as revoking your driving privileges for a period of time or in some cases, permanently.
Driving Without Insurance
Under Florida law, vehicle owners must be covered by insurance for property damage as well as personal injury in the event of an accident. The amount of coverage should meet the minimum legal requirements for vehicle insurance. If your insurance expires and you do not provide proof to law enforcement authorities of your new insurance, your license, registration, and plates will be suspended for 3 years.
Hit and Run
Leaving the scene of an accident you were involved in without notifying the owner of the car or law enforcement is called hit and run, and is a serious crime with significant consequences. If the hit and run involved only property damage, you can be fined up to $500, or be sentenced to up to two months in jail and six months probation. If the accident resulted in an injury to another person, you could be fined up to $5,000 and spend up to five years in prison. If the accident caused a death, you can face up to 30 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
Reckless driving is defined as erratic behavior on the road with wanton disregard for the safety of others or property. If you are drive too closely behind another vehicle, change lanes abruptly, flee from a law enforcement officer, and/or show disregard for the safety of persons or property, you can be charged with reckless driving. Upon conviction, you may face up to 6 months in prison along with a fine of up to $1,000. If your reckless driving caused an accident, damaged property, and/or injured someone, further charges may be added against you in a court of law.
If you were found driving under the influence, failed to pay your traffic fines, exceeded traffic violation points, or simply do not meet the minimum vision requirements, your license can be revoked or suspended. Your license can be suspended for a period anywhere between three months and a year. However, in some cases, your license may be suspended indefinitely.
What Should You Do If You Are Accused of a Driving Offense?
If you’ve been accused of or charged with a driving offense, it is important to have a seasoned Florida defense attorney at your side. Although it is possible to simply pay the fines or represent yourself, this may impact you negatively in the long run. In order to protect your rights and your record and receive the best possible outcome in your case, a defense attorney is necessary.
For a consultation to discuss the charges against you, contact me today at 1-305-433-0497.