In the state of Florida, assault is defined as intentionally causing another person to fear receiving bodily injury. Simple assault can be as minor as making threats against someone, while aggravated assault typically involves the use of a weapon to intimidate the victim or if the assault is committed against protected officials such as teachers, judges, police officers or firefighters.
If the assault involves the actual touching of someone against his or her will, battery charges can also apply. Although battery does include serious injury, under Florida law, the victim does not have to be physically injured in order to be convicted. You can be convicted of battery for something as simple as a slap or a shove if the act can be proven in court.
What Are the Punishments?
Although they often go hand in hand, assault and battery are actually two different crimes and the punishments are quite different in terms of fines and incarceration. If a suspect is found guilty of an assault, he or she can face up to 60 days in jail and up to a $500 fine, while someone who is found guilty of battery faces a sentence of up to one year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.
What to Do If You’ve Been Charged
If you’ve been charged with either of these crimes, it is essential to have a seasoned criminal defense attorney on your side. With years of experience defending clients against both assault and battery charges, I have the expertise and resources you need to build a solid defense for you. I will work hard to protect your rights and your freedoms under Florida law.
For a consultation to discuss the charges against you, contact me today at 1-305-433-0497.