What Happens If I Am Accused of A DUI with A Minor in The Vehicle?

Day & Evening  1-305-433-0497

What Happens If I Am Accused of A DUI with A Minor in The Vehicle?

Posted on : June 23, 2019, By:  Steve Taylor

Consequences Of A DUI Involving A Child

Any person accused of driving under the influence faces stiff consequences if they are convicted. However, the possible penalties could be enhanced if the party was stopped and a minor is in the vehicle.

This is because an alleged offender faces not only the possibility of imprisonment and increased fines but the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on vehicles. Any person in Florida could be accused of enhanced penalties because of a minor in the vehicle.

Control Of The Vehicle

The driver must have been in physical control of the vehicle and either had a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or under the influence of any chemical substances or alcoholic beverages to the extent that their ability to drive the vehicle safely could have been impaired. The penalties associated with DUI with minor in the vehicle have to do with whether or not this is a first, second, third or subsequent conviction. For a first conviction, an accused person is looking at up to 9 months in jail and a fine as high as $2000.

Second Conviction Of A DUI

For a second conviction, penalties can include up to 12 months in jail and fines as high as $4000. For a third or subsequent conviction, the fines can go up to $5000 and the party might be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail. There are many different defenses available to a person who has been accused of this crime, including no probable cause for the original traffic stop, observations made by the police officer are not supported by video evidence, the failure of the police officer to read the implied consent warning or the improper administration of field sobriety tests. You should always consult with your DUI attorney in Florida to discover whether any other potential defense strategies might be used.

Get Help With Your Florida DUI Charges

Don’t wait to hire someone to help you- the gathering of evidence is a process that should be undertaken as soon as possible after you have been accused of any crime, including a second or third DUI. When the matters are still fresh in your mind, you need to be prepared for responding to these charges seriously.